comment 0

This is your life – are you who you want to be?

Good question, right? I was out running the other day listening to some music when this song suddenly started playing. I’ve heard it close to a thousand times before, but for some reason the lyrics formed a question that was relevant to me this time. It wasn’t just a song written because of the words the writer had circling around his head or even a question that was for everyone else; it suddenly became a question that I asked myself.

“This is my life – am I who I want to be?”

Have you ever asked yourself that question? Am I who I want to be? People often have dreams and aspirations that they look forward to in the future. Maybe they even have someone they look up to and want to be like. Even if we don’t really know what we want or who we admire we all want to have a good life. I’ve never met anyone that wants their life to suck. Everyone wants to have a good and hopefully an adventures and exciting life. But how do we get there?

I have a lot of dreams for my life. Some dreams are so big I laugh at myself. How in the world could I ever see those dreams come true?! The thing is I believe in a God that it is said about in the Bible that “nothing is impossible for”(Luke 1:37), so I choose to believe that nothing actually means nothing. But the matter of the fact is that it’s not always easy to hold on to those beliefs. And in the business of life and day to day challenges it is easy to be distracted and make choices that actually lead us away from the road to our dreams instead of closer to them.

Who many know that life isn’t always easy? Thought so. Even as Christians we can be distracted and walk of the path that lead us towards where we want to end up. Because walking on the path that leads us toward our dreams and desires means choosing to walk through some tough places. It might seem nicer to choose another way, but the fact is that it will only get you off track.

This is your life – are you who you want to be? This life you are living now, the things that you do, the hobbies that you have, the friends that you hang out with, the things you spend your money on; is it who you want to be? And is it taking you in the right directions according to where you want to end up?

So often we blame others for our miserable life. For a long time I blamed everyone else. I blamed my friends, my family and my teachers. It was never my fault. There is this silly saying in Norwegian that says “blame someone else; problem solved”. But is it really that simple? Does your life change to what you want it to be like when you blame someone else for everything that sucks in your life? No. It really doesn’t.

This is YOUR life – are YOU who YOU want to be? Even if you have a good reason to be depressed, bitter, angry or sad so that you can’t seem to get out of bed in the morning it is your choice to stay that way. You have the power to choose for yourself. Other people may let you down or tell you that you’re worthless (and they probably will somewhere along the line), but it’s your choice what you do with those comments or hurtful actions.

What’s your dream for your life? Where do you see yourself in 10-20 years? What do you want to do with your life? What do you desire?

This is the only life you get, and to be honest you don’t even know if you’re going to live past tomorrow. So this is your life – are you who you want to be?

Arkivert i:Inspirasjon

About the Author

Sendt av

Heisann og hoppsann! Jeg heter Annka. For tiden jobber jeg som linjeleder for tjenestelinjen ved Lev Drammen Bibelskole og er administrasjonsansvarlig i PBU. Jeg elsker kirken og er så takknemlig for å være en del av Intro kirken. Hodet mitt bryner alltid på en tanke eller tre som jeg deler frimodig med verden gjennom min lille blogg her i den store utenomjordiske verden vi har kalt cyber space. xo

Legg igjen en kommentar

